Friday, September 5, 2008

Update from Meg

So this mainly goes out to Kels and New since I don't get to see you guys! The summer has been very good, i thoroughly enjoyed my office's half day fridays all summer long (most afternoons spent reading by the pool). Liz was gone most of the summer globe-trotting with her family so I was basically living by myself a lot, but I did in fact enjoy it and it made me realize I would eventually like to live on my own someday. But it is nice to have Liz back again and on the same schedule as me.

Work is going really well, I honesly like my job a lot. My one-year anniversary is this month! hard to believe. I've started to travel more, mainly going to trade shows to represent WEF. I went to Orlando in August and am leaving tomorrow for Dallas for 4 days. And we have our big conference and exhibition every October and this year its in Chicago, so that will be lots of fun. I am really trying to get involved more at work, especially since i really like all the travel i've been doing, and i would eventually like to work in our marketing department (i'm still in Advertising now). And, my boss' boss Jack told me in secret that he was really impressed with my work at the trade show in Orlando and he said he put me "on the list to travel internationally". (We recently started an international pavilion program where we make it possible for smaller US companies to exhibit at Int'l shows by covering all the transportation/logistics for them.) Jack expects this program to be really successful, so I am hoping to get involved with it within the next year or two. So there really is a lot of opportunities for me to move up. And now that I have some really good friends at work, we've been going out a lot in DC on the weekends and stuff.

As for boys, there is not a whole lot of activity in that category...my friend Cari from work introduced me to her friend Drew, who graduated with her from GW. He's tall, blond, and works for Obama on the campaign trail. I've met him twice, and we've been tlaking but haven't seen him in a few weeks because he's gone a lot with Obama. So we will see if we keep talking and who knows. If anything should happen I will defintiely have to give my vag a pep talk.

I'm gearing up to run in the Army 10-miler race on Oct. 5 around downtown DC. So far i'm running 8.5 miles so I'm basically there. I think I'll run it again next year if anyone else is interested, the training really was easier than I thought.

I guess thats about it... the next couple months will be super busy at work in preparation for our conference, and its also the Season of Birthdays around here! Hope you all are doing well. p.s. Talia got engaged to Jeremy! (bf of 2+ years)

~meg

New-how did the move go???
Kels-How was your first week of school???

Wednesday, September 3, 2008

Oops

I think I have boyfriend

Saturday, August 9, 2008

Life Change!!

Jesse and I had started making plans for me to move down to NM with the understanding that I'd stay in Madison until I secured a job in Alamogordo. Well, Wednesday was an exceptionally stressful day and I said, "I need to get out of here today" Jesse said, "Well, tell HR tomorrow!" In one day all our plans of making a sensible move were thrown out the window.

And so I resigned yesterday and my last day at Epic is September 12th. I'm not sure how I'll pay to move all my stuff 1500 miles, I don't have a job out there, and we don't have anywhere to live yet.

Talk about irrational things people do for love...

(P.S. I'm terrified!)

Friday, August 1, 2008

The Visitor

My mother is up here in Madison visiting; I love my mother, but I want her to leave already! She's been here since last Friday and has a few more days until leaving on Sunday. This trip is making me rethink my scheme to have her come live with me and raise my children...

Who thought that having a visitor would be so irritating.

-Newman

Thursday, July 24, 2008

Alamogordo, New Mexico

So I found out some stuff about your new town, it's way more interesting that my actual work. Your town was the first testing site for the atomic bomb...haha i thought that was cool...the population is around 36,000, about the same as the number of people who attend UMD...your town has a hot air balloon festival and a film festival every year...and i found a great blurb about shopping on your town's website:

"You will find great shopping in Alamogordo. It is the retail center for the region. Alamogordo has Wal-mart, K-mart, Home Depot, Lowes and JC Penny to name a few of our local national retailers. Our historic New York Ave. shopping district is a must see." ~http://www.alamogordo.net/shopping/

Assuming you get along with a decent amount of people and you don't get too bored, it might be a nice small town to live in for a few years. P.S. You are becoming such a grown up...moving in with your fiance and buying a house and all that stuff...wow when did we start getting old! Glad to see you're doing so good!

Love,
Kathy

Friday, July 18, 2008

You ladies have been pretty quiet lately! Busy like me I'm assuming. Kelsey, how was your trip back to MD?

Jesse asked me to come live with him. :) Originally, I thought there was no way I'd ever go to live with him in New Mexico (google his city, Alamogordo, to find out why). But since he asked me to move in, I started thinking that if I can get a job on base that pays more than what I make now, it could make up for Alamogordo sucking...not to mention I'd get to be with J. and I'd get to buy a house :)

So it turns out that there are a lot of jobs on base. I'm going to apply for one that is almost identical to what I'm doing now and is about a 15K salary jump!!

So I may be moving even further away from home, but I'll be able to use my vacation days to go visit people other than J. Maybe Maryland will be our next vacation get away!


Love-Newman

Thursday, June 12, 2008

you're responses to my previous post are overwhelming! I feel so missed! Anyway, I am flying in on the 18th, and I really want to see you guys. Please let me know what is going on with all of you, cause I'm not trying to drive to MD for nothing.
Kelsey

Thursday, June 5, 2008

Ok, so save any major need to change plans, I am flying into PA June 18th. I want to come to MD June 19th-21st (I'd leave the morning or afternoon of the 21st). If you guys are available, I would really love it if we could go out Friday the 20th. It has been so long since I've seen/gone out with you guys, and I am definitely in need of some Woo girl time!! If it doesn't work to go out Friday, or at least not for everyone, I would also love to (either or in addition to Friday) get together any of those days to just hang out. Let me know what your plans are and what would work for you. I hope it works out, I really miss you guys!

Kelsey

Tuesday, June 3, 2008

New, had you not met them before? Or was this just the first time with the families meeting? I just did the whole "meet the family" thing too over Memorial Day weekend. I had met his parents before (both of whom I love!) but never his 3 sisters or their families (and I was much more afraid of that). We flew into Houston Thursday night, but left early Friday morning to go to their river house along the Guadalupe. The house was BEAUTIFUL! Friday night we had to go to a rehearsal dinner for his friend getting married in San Antonio. San Antonio was probably one of the coolest cities I've ever been to! Saturday was the wedding, which was beautiful. We took one of the little river boats from the wedding to the reception which was cool. The reception was right on the river walk. It was a really fun wedding and Andy and I were discussing things we're going to do the same/different haha. After the wedding we went out along the river walk, as we were walking I walked over what I thought was just a grate...little did I know, air was blowing out. I wasn't wearing underwear, and a group of about 10 Mexicans got a real nice shot of my bare ass...yea, that was fun. On Sunday we floated the Comal River, which is apparantly a big thing...picture Preakness on water. There were literally thousands of people just floating and drinking. Andy was in charge of the cooler and ended up getting a $300 for having too big of a cooler. How ridiculous is that?! What makes it really ridiculous is that they aren't even trying to limit alcohol. EACH person is allowed a 16quart cooler, which can hold an entire case of beer. Our cooler only allowed about 10 beers for each of us in our group. So they are actually increasing alcohol and the amount of coolers...seems pretty dumb to me. Made a pretty good story though. Almost as good of a story as Andy's friend bringing his stripper girlfriend who is technically still married to a half black half asian in georgia (that's the short of it at least). Monday we drove back to the Woodlands for a family BBQ where I met at the sisters. They were nice enough, but I didn't get to talk to them much. It was kind of weird though because I know how much they all LOVED his ex-wife (that is still so weird to say!), whom by the way I had to hear WAY too much about throughout the weekend. I swear it was all most of his friends talked about. Not like how much they liked her, more just giving him crap, it was still awkward though. Anyway, there are a few more stories, but I am rambling, I just wanted to tell a fwe of my stories to someone.

Anyway, I think I am going hom June 18th is and was planning on coming to MD that weekend if you guys are going to be around. Let me know what everyone's plans are. I hope it can work out, I miss you guys so much!

Friday, May 30, 2008

Family time

I was back in NY for Jesse's graduation this holiday weekend. Thursday, his family flew into Buffalo so we had a big meet and greet to-do, kind of a big deal. It went really well. His family, with the exception of his father, was pretty uncomfortable for the first half, but thanks to my fun loving (and booze loving) family, they pulled his mother/brother/nephew out of their shells and everyone ended up having a good time.

It was a really nice weekend overall, and his family is sweet, but I am finally away from them and I need to vent! They are sooo slow!!! Everything takes them 5x longer than it would take a normal person, like 15 minutes to pee. They ask so many dumb questions that anyone could answer, such as "Why are there so many no turn on red signs?" Well probably because there are so many students! And they are really out of shape so going anywhere had them huffing and puffing, in addition to them complaining that it was hot (even though San Antonio is 100 degrees right now...)

Enough of that. I had to vent somewhere, because I couldn't tell Jesse just how annoyed I was getting. Despite all that, the weekend was really nice. He had his commissioning on Saturday, which is the mot important event in an officer's life. I teared up. And Maya Angelou spoke at convocation. She made his mom cry, and made me cry, which made Jesse cry when he saw me and her crying and hugging. After commencement, we went to NYC because his father and nephew had never been. They are so easily entertained that they were amazed by billboards. (Sorry I didn't call Jen, I was only there for a day)

Overall it was successful. Next week I'm going down to San Antonio for his graduation party and have to meet the ENTIRE family. Wish me luck!

--Newman

Thursday, May 29, 2008

Im Stealing Kelsey's Thunder!!!

I quit my job... but i got a new awesome one. I am the new account coordinator at Potomac Management Resources. My primary client will be the woman's bar association, i will work a couple of blocks from meg's work in alexandria, and i get paid more!!!! WOOO!!! Best birthday present ever to myself.

I want to thank all of you who came out for my birthday. It was so much fun, from what i remember. If you missed it... basically everyone drank a lot and laura said i somehow made my way to the stripper pole? still trying to piece things together but it was fantastic. There was confusion with the bar tab but, it will work out and it was wayyy worth it. my drunk alter ego "Destiny" came out.

i think the last thing i have to say is... my birth control costs too much now and i think im going to change it for the very first time. so if you can all tell me what kind you are on and like how you like it that would be cool. i just want more boobage, and i dont want to lose what i have.

Jadie

Tuesday, May 20, 2008

I got a job!!

I got a teaching job for next fall. I am going to be the fifth grade teacher at Vail Mountain School, which is a really nice private school up here. It was really a whirlwind process, and I was insanely nervous about getting it. A couple weeks ago I went in just to pick up the application materials. The woman in charge of hiring (who is the director of the lower school, it's a k-12 school) told me they only had 2 positions open (4th and 5th) and that they had already had a large number of applicants from all over the country. She said she wanted to have her hiring done by May 15th (this was May 2nd). So while I expected to pick up the application and then have at least a week to look over stuff since I'd been out of the education world for a year, she told me to come in the next morning at 730 to interview. I interviewed with her and about 6 others and then Andy and I headed of on our vaca. While we were driving she called and said I did well and they would like me to come back for a full day interview which would include teaching a lesson and meeting with the headmaster. That was planned for Monday, and we got back Sunday (that made for a stressful Sunday!). Anyway, that went well also and I just got a call from her yesterday offering me the 5th grade position. I was pretty stoked I got that one, because I was expecting fourth. The fourth grade position is a one year position with evaluation afterwards to maybe move to another grade, but the fifth grade position is a guaranteed 2 year position.

The school is great and I've loved everyone I have met there thus far. My class size is going be 12-14 students, and in the winter we only have class Mon-Thurs. On Fridays we go skiing. From what I have heard thus far, I think it's going to be a lot of fun (certainly a lot of work though too). Anyway, that is my big news. I am finally joining the real work force!

Tuesday, May 13, 2008

home stupid home

Well I am home from Hawaii, and it is fucking snowing here!! 430+ inches of snow this season, and I am now pretty much over it! Last time I checked, it was the middle of May and I'm ready for it to be pretty much summer.

Anyway, Hawaii was AMAZING! We had gorgeous weather the entire time, with only a couple scattered showers and then blue skies immediately after. The entire time we were at the Princeville, everyone was calling me Mrs. Sutton. At one point, I asked Andy if that freaked him out and he said, "why would it? You're going to be." We actually talked about our future a lot this trip. To save myself from ruthless teasing, I won't go too into detail about the conversations, but lets just say, I wouldn't be suprised if I have a ring on my finger a year from now.

During our time at the hotel, we pretty much stayed there except for dinners. Our days mostly consisted of breakfast on that deck, sitting by the pool drinking Mai Tais until after sunset, getting ready for dinner, and then ending up eating dinner at the grocery store. Everything in Hanalei stopped serving food by 9, and despite learning this the very first night, we never made it out for dinner there. Luckily the golf course restaurant had delicious sushi, so we did that a couple nights.

The rest of the trip we stayed at this BEAUTIFUL 8 bedroom house right off the beach. The house was so cool, and the backyard was even cooler. We were hearing all about the parties that go on there. Actually, Sting was at one the latest parties, and stayed in the house for a while. While we stayed at the house, we explored different beaches and sites on the northshore by day, and had bonfires at the beach next to the house by night. Friday was awesome because Andy wanted to play the Princeville golf course, which OBVIOUSLY didn't interest me, so I got to spend the day at the spa there instead :-).

All in all, it was a fabulous vacation, and I am not happy to be home (maybe when the sun comes out I'll feel a LITTLE different). I posted pictures on Facebook if you're interested.

I miss you all like crazy, and I want to come visit SO bad! Being unemployed with no money is making that a little difficult though. Hopefully I'll have my summer job worked out by the end of the week and then I can start really thinking about it. I hope all is well with you guys!

Thursday, May 8, 2008

Reunion, of Sorts

Hi Girls!!

Ok, it's been forever and ever since I've written on the blog, so I thought I'd make a comeback :)

This past weekend was great, it was soo nice to see everyone (minus, of course, our resident snow-bunny and Newman)! To catch you two up, I came in on Friday and spent the night at Emily's - Jade, Kathy, and Liz came, and we all went over to see Becky. It was good to see that she's doing well. Ryan Kamauff was there, we watched a movie, fell asleep, picked ourselves up, and went back to Em's. Kathy and I found no spiders in Katie's bed, but it was kind of a restless sleep.... On Saturday, Em went for her "Stream Walk" (yea, I said wtf too lol - only at Friends, I think) and the rest of us packed up and shipped out for Annapolis, or A-Pole, as I have dubbed it. Lizzie and I dodged traffic to go to Panera, only to be semi-harassed by a grumpy bagel girl - we were feeling adventurous. I've got to say, Liz and Meg have created the cutest apartment - so what I would have expected from them! I guess everything is cyclical, huh? - they started out as roomies, and are once again living together :-) Anyway, so we all went and saw Made of Honor - which was too cute, and I think my secret love for Patrick Dempsey has only quadrupled since then. We went out that night to this bar, Pusser's (correct?) where we made friends - not by choice!! Meg had an admirer, who kept calling her quiet girl and kept telling me he knew I was smart, and Lizzie got drunk :-). Good times. Meg made breakfast on Sunday (what a hostess!) and then that afternoon, Haris picked me up for dinner in DC with friends......and that was my MD reunion :-)

My New Year's Resolution, yes, it's really really tardy, is to be 10x better about staying in touch - I know I'm the worst at it. I realized after this weekend how much I really missed hanging out with everyone, even if we're not doing much. I think I also realized how out of the loop I've been after looking around Meg and Liz's place and seeing myself in barely any recent photos - that was kind of eye-opening. So, with that being said, I love you girls, and I'm going to try and be a much more present friend, thought I am out of state :)

Love, Jen

Friday, April 25, 2008

Finally climbed back onto the earth!

Hello all my lovely ladies!

It appears I did in fact fall of the face of the earth! I was just crazy busy with ski school at the end of the season, working a lot of extra days and finishing up. Then I was actually in PA for a few days getting my summer clothes. When I got back we had closing weekend on the mtn. which was AMAZING! Picture Preakness, but at the top of Vail Mountain and you have to ski down afterwards. I wasn't quite as drunk as I get at Preakness, but enough so. They had cops up there with snowcats in case anyone felt they were too intoxicated to ski down, they could get a ride. It was definitely a fun day. Now the mountain is closed and I'm anxiously awaiting spring/summer...which does not seem to coming (it snowed yesterday!!!). The past week I've been in Cali. Andy came out with me for last weekend and got to meet my whole family. They all absolutely LOVE him! My nana told my mom "I hope they don't have too long of an engagement...oh wait, they're not engaged yet". My dad told me he thought the reason we were coming was to make an "announcement". But yea, all in all it went really well and we had a lot of fun. Next Saturday Andy and I leave for Kauai for a week, which I am SOOOOO excited for! The first three nights we're staying at the Princeville and the last 4 we're staying at this 8 bedroom mansion on the beach that someone with his company owns...I may not come home haha! Then it's time to figure out what I'll be doing for work this summer. I'm going to try to plan a trip home/to MD, I just don't know when yet. I have to figure out my job/money situation first. I'll definitely keep you posted though. And of course, if anyone wants to come here...;-). Vail really is the best in the summer.

I hope you are all doing well too. Kathy, congrats on the upcoming graduation! I wish I could be there! I bet it feels good to know you're almost done. Meg, how is the new car treating you? I'm pretty jealous about that! And New, since you are clearly getting bored with online shopping, you should start to look for plane tickets for you and your man to come here!!! I think it's a great plan. Emily, are you alive? What the heck have you been up to? I miss you all more than I can tell you. I was out in Denver for the baseball game a couple weeks ago, and then a group went to a karaoke bar and they kept playing all our songs, and I literally started tearing up. I'm pretty sure Andy thought I was insane until I could finally tell him why I was getting so sad! Well I think that about sums it up for now! I love and miss you guys! Talk to you soon!

Wednesday, April 23, 2008

Graduation Plans!

So I'm still working at Lockheed Martin, my resume needs to be updated so I can find out about moving into the Finance/Accounting department at Lockheed starting this summer. I met a boy last week at lake Artemesia(sp?), it's starting out really well, I'll let you know more if it turns into anything. I have my 3rd and hopefully last exam for my finance class on May 12th. The final is optional, so if I have an A in the class I wont take the final.

The main commencement ceremony for Graduation is Thursday May 22 at 7:00 pm. My Business School Graduation ceremony is Friday May 23, 4:00 - 7:00 pm at Comcast. I am having my Graduation Party on Saturday, May 31st, starting at 4 pm (tenative). I am hoping that all of you will be able to make it, I will probably be sending out invitations next week.

For all of you local girls, I know that Graduation is not that exciting, but it would mean so so so much to me if you would come to my individual ceremony on friday to see me graduate! If a bribe would help, anyone who comes gets a free dinner at Sir Walter Raleigh afterwards :) (No need for excuses if you simply don't want to go, I understand it's not that fun) Also, I dont know if you all still have your cap and gowns, but I would love it if you would be willing to bring them with you to my graduation party and throw them on for a minute for a picture, so I can pretend we all graduated together :)

Hope life is good for all you girls I havent talked to in awhile (Kelsey which end of the earth did you fall off of? :P). Let me know if you can come to my graduation party!!!!

Love you all!!!!

Kathleen

Monday, April 7, 2008

I am sooo bored at work today. There is only so much online shopping that I can do in one sitting. Anyway that got me thinking about how I have a pretty relaxed job, albeit boring on some days and crazy busy on others...that got me thinking about how so out of the loop I am with all of you ladies. I don't even know what you're all doing with yourselves. Care to fill me in?

-Newman

Monday, March 24, 2008

Got a new car!

Dear Friends,
I bought a car! Finally.... it's the Honda Accord that I've been looking at and shopping around for. It's a sporty 2-door, Red, with tan leather interior. Cute and fun, but still practical, reliable, good gas mileage, etc. Basically I've had it all picked out for a while, it was just a matter of where I got it from. I had been to a few different dealerships, but nothing really came through, until last week. I decided to go to a different Honda dealer than any I had been to, and bring in my lowest quote and if they matched it, I would buy it. So that's what happened, I got really good deal, went in all by myself, turned on bitch mode, and 4 hours later finally left with the car. From College Park Honda of all places! It took forever, but I did wait around in order for them to bring in the car from another dealer, so I wouldn't have to go back the next day and pick it up. At first I had major buyer's remorse, like why did i just spend all this money, take out a huge load, what if i can't pay it off, etc...but now I feel much better about it, and it actually feels like my own car, instead of this expensive piece of junk. So yea that's it! And lets just say the hour each way drive to work just got so much better!

Thursday, March 6, 2008

Meg, you have my condolences for never getting to watch Farve play again.
Seriously, it's all they have talked about on the news for 3 ENTIRE DAYS. I don't understand how they can talk about it so much; it's not like there's been any breaking news on the story! The guy retired, yesterday he was still retired, today he is still retired, tomorrow he'll probably still be retired, how many times to they need to tell me! I suppose I just have to be a fan to understand huh?

-New

Wednesday, March 5, 2008

im moving this weekend

yay!!! i am moving into my apartment with Laura, my friend from work, this weekend. I will officially be a yuppie. Nothing has really happened in my life thats really interesting. I didnt stab myself, and i dont have a fractured skull. I did form an addiction to this peanut brittle i bought from under privlidged kids to help the raise money for a rec center.
Lat weekend i went out dancing for one of my friends birthdays. they are t twin boys that live in my neighborhood, and ive known them since 4th grade. so that was cool since i havent gone out dancing since jen newman and her brother. but we rolled with a group of 20+ people, so there wasnt a chance of sketchy guys getting to me. a cute white guy pulled on my pigtail, but i dont think my friend keith was having any of that. bottom line we took shots till 6 in the morning, some where in that time we tried youtubing thriller and learned the dance.
so i move in this sat. after we move in we are going to this black tie event for my brotehrs thing... all i know is there is an open bar and i get to wear a pretty dress. after that we are going to this venue on U street called the black cat, there is a big dance floor upstairs where they are holding a 80's dance party called mouse trap. get it?
mouse trap, black cat?
yeahh... took me a second too. anyways its not the kind of 80's we like, they already warned me its like strange 80's british groups, funky dj's, a hipster's heaven. i dont get it, but hey we will see. if it ends up being awesome all of you have to come, they have it once a month.
ill probably bake cupcakes tonight... ill have to buy some heavy whipping cream for the frosting, sooo exciting i know, but top model is on tonight, so ill watch taht too

Jadie
so seeing as a live 2000 miles away from everyone, you all no longer get the amusement of seeeing me get injured due to my stupidity and clumsiness...so I thought I'd share via blog. APPARANTLY, stabbing straight down, full force with a steak knife is not the best way to get out an avocado pit....especially when you miss the pit. Yea, I spent a couple hours at the hospital last night because I also learned that putting a knife all the way through your hand does actually require stitches (I tried to argue this point, but Andy finally convinced me to go). Luckily, I just missed a major tendon. I just hit muscle, so as an injury, it's not that bad, but it hurts like hell to move my hand. the end.

Monday, March 3, 2008

Almost bought a car

Hi everyone, it's meg. Even though I see most of you guys more often now, the blog needs a re-vival. So you all know I’ve been wanting to buy a new car ever since graduation. No, nothing is really wrong with my car now but I am giving it back to my dad so my sister will have a car starting this summer. And yes, I want to buy a brand new car, 1) I will put a lot of miles on it so it cant have a lot to begin with 2) you can only get really low apr rates on new cars, not used. And my credit score is way above 700 so even though I’m a first-time buyer there’s no reason I shouldn’t be approved for a low apr, according to my sources. So basically I’ve got my eye on a 2008 Accord coupe. And I’ve been talking to a few different dealers and went in a couple weeks ago for a test drive. I’m still considering other models, but essentially I want something sporty, good gas mileage, that’s a reliable brand and will have a decent trade-in value. You know in case I start popping out babies and need something other than a 2-door. But that’s far-fetched. REALLY far-fetched.

So on Saturday morning one of the salespeople I’ve been talking to from Honda of Annapolis emailed me, trying to get me to come in because they were extending their end of the month clearance. So eventually I made an offer, about 1,000 less that what I was quoted by other dealers, which is still about 1500 below invoice and 3500 below sticker price. But I made the offer assuming 2.9% financing which is what the guy told me I could get with near-perfect credit and I have a copy of my credit report I am ready to bring in for proof. Clearly I’m not going into the dealership unless he is going to give me something around what I’m looking for because then they have you right where they want you. So…then the guy got sketchy and made up excuses why he couldn’t give me the low apr “Honda only does it from time to time” but never said anything about the price I offered...meaning the price was do-able but when they slash prices at the end of each month to make their quotas they don’t offer the low apr. What a coincidence! They want people to finance the car, because they make a spiff off of every loan, even if its an outside lending institution. So I’m not going to let them push me around, my dad thinks they will come back to me in a week or so saying now they have a deal. We’ll see, I’m not in a huge hurry. That’s my story. Stay tuned.

it's just a little crush

ok so i dont know who i told about this guy chris that i had a crush on last semester, but he sooo made my weekend. chris was in my golf class and i totally tried to facebook stalk him and find him but i couldnt (i can say that he is my only hard core facebook stalk tho). i think i may have asked some of you for advice on how to facebook stalk better. ok so i played golf with him a couple times in the class and he's so quite and shy, and cute, brown hair, blue eyes, medium build, avg height....anyways, after the class was over i thought my only way to see him again would be if i went by the golf course later this semester to accidentally run into him on purpose, and then i would finally manage to have an actual conversation with him, and he would think i was so cute and flirty that he wouldnt be able to help him self and just have to ask me out. so, i was working saturday night at the restaurant and guess who shows up at one of my tables?!?! CHRIS! and he totally remembered me. he was there having dinner with his roommate and his roommate's family. instead of my routine greeting to the table, i ended up making some small talk with chris and found out that he's a finance major. (oh btw, i'm still taking a class at maryland, i just realized that my story doesnt make sense otherwise). and the class that i'm taking is finance, so he said that he would give me his number and i could call him if i needed any help. and i got his number and i am totally calling to get help, even though im doing pretty good so far...i got a B on my first exam, and my exam grades were the reason i couldnt pass this class.

after i got their drink orders i ran over to one of the other waitresses that i am friends with cus i was shaking i was so excited that i saw him and got his phone number!!! i really hope that he doesnt turn out to be a tool, cus right now im so excited about even having a crush on someone, and the fact that he just popped up at my restaurant out of no where :) now i just need to figure out how long i should wait to call him to get help, i usually only need help around exam time and i just took one last monday, so it'll be a few weeks, but i dont want to wait that long to call him. so when should i call him?

Love,
Kathleen

Wednesday, February 27, 2008

vacation!!!!

Hey guys, I am going on vacation next week and was wondering who would be available for either dinner on friday or lunch on saturday. ill most likely be in college park during both of those times so its easier for everyone except becky. sorry becky, but thats what you get for cracking your skull. sooo i guess either reply to this or call me or whatever. id really like to see people before i go away cause if i dont i wont see you all for at least another 2 weeks and maybe longer cause of easter.
so since im posting i suppose i can give a life update as well. matt and i broke up, but we are back together now. i hope things work out but i guess you really never know. also i finally turned in my law school applications and am just waiting to hear back from the places i applied. its scary as crap. for some reason way scarier than high school. so the vacation im going on is to florida with katie and chuck, i know youre all jealous. i would be jealous too if someone else got to go on vacay with chuck its pretty fun. ive been sitting here waxing my legs. its pretty uncomfortable right now. one of my legs is numb, not good i think. hmm i suppose if i have any other news ill write again. i hope everyone is good and i hope to see some of you soon. except becky, i dont like people with fluid on the brain.

Emily

Sunday, February 17, 2008

I spent the day at bra boutiques in Chicago yesterday and found out my actual size...32G...holy crap. --New

Friday, February 8, 2008

Valentine's Day Plans

So I thought I didnt care about being single for valentine's day, but I'm a little bummed im not going to be going out on a date, getting a present, or any of that typical valentine's day stuff. The other single girls can tell me if they agree, but i find it more frustrating to be single in the working world than single in college. Much, much less potential for meeting boys. Anyways, I want to hear what all of you girls are doing for valentine's day so I have something to be jealous of instead of being bummed that I'm single :)

Kathleen

Monday, February 4, 2008

it's about time

As I was sitting in training admiring my ring I thought it was about time that I spelled out marriage plans.

First off, there will be no wedding until at least 2011. Jesse will be commissioned as an Air Force officer, and we want to wait until the end of his service so we're not stuck living where ever he is stationed. The other reason to wait is then I'll get a month long paid sabbatical for 2 to any country of my choosing. Waiting a few years to get a paid month long honeymoon is worth it.

His family lives in Texas, mine are in NY, and we're going to screw them all and have a wedding in the Mayan Riviera. Of course everyone who is able to make it out there at that time is welcome to come and spend a week in the Caribbean, but if not, we'll also have receptions (very cheap receptions since all our money will be spent in Mexico) in both San Antonio and Buffalo.

Love-New

Friday, February 1, 2008

Anyone have any suggestions on what I can get Andy for Valentine's Day?? I'm completely stuck

Sunday, January 27, 2008

so last night Andy and I went to this gala for the Vail Valley Partners. It was so much fun to get all dressed up, and I had SUCH a pretty dress...I was so sad to have to take it off at the end of the night. Anyway, we had just finished dinner and the auction, and Andy and I were sitting talking and he told me that he loves me!! :-D The shitty part is that I was pretty drunk at that point, and I can't remember exactly what he said :-( I am SO annoyed! It's driving me crazy. Anyway, I'm going to bed, but just wanted to share!

Tuesday, January 22, 2008

personally banning myself from cp

i fucked bill's roomate....

Jadie

Tuesday, January 15, 2008

So this is the first time I have been home since THURSDAY!! It's been a fun number of days, but super busy too. I got off work tonight and am so happy to just be sitting at home. First and foremost, I am so sorry Em that all you got was a text on your birthday!! We were in the mountains on this ski trip thing and the coverage was really spotty, I tried to call and it wouldn't go through, so I figured I'd go with the text and call you the next day...oh, but then leave it to me, no more phone. I have NO idea where I could have lost it, but it is nowhere to be found (so leave me all your numbers). I hope you guys had so much fun though, I cannot wait to hear about it. I wish so much that I could have been there :-(. I miss you guys like crazy and can't wait to see those of you that are going to be here in a month. Em, Becky, and Kathy...are any of you going to make it? I was talking to Liz last week and I really don't think you should rent a car. You have no idea how scary those mountain roads are if there is even a LITTLE bit of snow. Two people have died in the last week. The CME drivers know how to maneuver those roads and no other ways if necessary. Also, Andy was telling me that if you book your tickets all together (CME.com) there is a discount for groups...so you guys should look into that. It would be much safer and it's not like you neeed a car here. There are busses to take you EVERYWHERE. Anyway, I hope all is well with you guys, I will talk to you soon. And don't forget to leave me your number!!

Friday, January 4, 2008

need help!

Thank you ladies for all the support and congratulations on my engagement! I'm so happy with Jesse. Cute story, he wants to be a politician and likes dressing up, so I bought him a pair of suspenders for Christmas. Well, the other day he decided to see how they looked on, he got all fancied up, tie, suspenders, and nice shirt, then just hung around the house so happy because he thought he looked so good...he even made cookies in his suspenders and tie. He's so cute I just want to squeeze him!

Other news: I am becoming pathetically domestic. Here's what people gave me for Christmas. Blender, food saver, milkshake maker, air popcorn popper, sewing machine...is that sad or what?!

And now for the needing help part. A few months ago when I first moved into my apartment, I was in shock about how much I'd be spending on rent, parking, utilities and other bills. So I had the bright idea of inviting Jesse's older brother to come live with me (so he could help split the costs). But now, I've become used to my bills and like living alone.

He's visiting us right now and yesterday Jesse brought moving here with me up to him, and apparently he's seriously considering it. So, what can I do to make him not want to move here without having to tell them I changed my mind!!! My apartment is too small to have another person living with me, and I'd never be able to use my living room again because that's where he'd live. I have to pretend to want him to live here , and somehow have him decide on his own not to move...HELP!!!!


Love-NEW