Monday, March 3, 2008

Almost bought a car

Hi everyone, it's meg. Even though I see most of you guys more often now, the blog needs a re-vival. So you all know I’ve been wanting to buy a new car ever since graduation. No, nothing is really wrong with my car now but I am giving it back to my dad so my sister will have a car starting this summer. And yes, I want to buy a brand new car, 1) I will put a lot of miles on it so it cant have a lot to begin with 2) you can only get really low apr rates on new cars, not used. And my credit score is way above 700 so even though I’m a first-time buyer there’s no reason I shouldn’t be approved for a low apr, according to my sources. So basically I’ve got my eye on a 2008 Accord coupe. And I’ve been talking to a few different dealers and went in a couple weeks ago for a test drive. I’m still considering other models, but essentially I want something sporty, good gas mileage, that’s a reliable brand and will have a decent trade-in value. You know in case I start popping out babies and need something other than a 2-door. But that’s far-fetched. REALLY far-fetched.

So on Saturday morning one of the salespeople I’ve been talking to from Honda of Annapolis emailed me, trying to get me to come in because they were extending their end of the month clearance. So eventually I made an offer, about 1,000 less that what I was quoted by other dealers, which is still about 1500 below invoice and 3500 below sticker price. But I made the offer assuming 2.9% financing which is what the guy told me I could get with near-perfect credit and I have a copy of my credit report I am ready to bring in for proof. Clearly I’m not going into the dealership unless he is going to give me something around what I’m looking for because then they have you right where they want you. So…then the guy got sketchy and made up excuses why he couldn’t give me the low apr “Honda only does it from time to time” but never said anything about the price I offered...meaning the price was do-able but when they slash prices at the end of each month to make their quotas they don’t offer the low apr. What a coincidence! They want people to finance the car, because they make a spiff off of every loan, even if its an outside lending institution. So I’m not going to let them push me around, my dad thinks they will come back to me in a week or so saying now they have a deal. We’ll see, I’m not in a huge hurry. That’s my story. Stay tuned.

2 comments:

Megan said...

wow, you're certainly not a pushover. i'm totally impressed

Unknown said...

wish i had been more patient. what's the mr. salesman? this car costs about $8,000 more than i want to spend and i can only get 12% apr and i dont even like the color...fantastic! I'll take it!.

I'm an idiot