Monday, March 24, 2008

Got a new car!

Dear Friends,
I bought a car! Finally.... it's the Honda Accord that I've been looking at and shopping around for. It's a sporty 2-door, Red, with tan leather interior. Cute and fun, but still practical, reliable, good gas mileage, etc. Basically I've had it all picked out for a while, it was just a matter of where I got it from. I had been to a few different dealerships, but nothing really came through, until last week. I decided to go to a different Honda dealer than any I had been to, and bring in my lowest quote and if they matched it, I would buy it. So that's what happened, I got really good deal, went in all by myself, turned on bitch mode, and 4 hours later finally left with the car. From College Park Honda of all places! It took forever, but I did wait around in order for them to bring in the car from another dealer, so I wouldn't have to go back the next day and pick it up. At first I had major buyer's remorse, like why did i just spend all this money, take out a huge load, what if i can't pay it off, etc...but now I feel much better about it, and it actually feels like my own car, instead of this expensive piece of junk. So yea that's it! And lets just say the hour each way drive to work just got so much better!

Thursday, March 6, 2008

Meg, you have my condolences for never getting to watch Farve play again.
Seriously, it's all they have talked about on the news for 3 ENTIRE DAYS. I don't understand how they can talk about it so much; it's not like there's been any breaking news on the story! The guy retired, yesterday he was still retired, today he is still retired, tomorrow he'll probably still be retired, how many times to they need to tell me! I suppose I just have to be a fan to understand huh?

-New

Wednesday, March 5, 2008

im moving this weekend

yay!!! i am moving into my apartment with Laura, my friend from work, this weekend. I will officially be a yuppie. Nothing has really happened in my life thats really interesting. I didnt stab myself, and i dont have a fractured skull. I did form an addiction to this peanut brittle i bought from under privlidged kids to help the raise money for a rec center.
Lat weekend i went out dancing for one of my friends birthdays. they are t twin boys that live in my neighborhood, and ive known them since 4th grade. so that was cool since i havent gone out dancing since jen newman and her brother. but we rolled with a group of 20+ people, so there wasnt a chance of sketchy guys getting to me. a cute white guy pulled on my pigtail, but i dont think my friend keith was having any of that. bottom line we took shots till 6 in the morning, some where in that time we tried youtubing thriller and learned the dance.
so i move in this sat. after we move in we are going to this black tie event for my brotehrs thing... all i know is there is an open bar and i get to wear a pretty dress. after that we are going to this venue on U street called the black cat, there is a big dance floor upstairs where they are holding a 80's dance party called mouse trap. get it?
mouse trap, black cat?
yeahh... took me a second too. anyways its not the kind of 80's we like, they already warned me its like strange 80's british groups, funky dj's, a hipster's heaven. i dont get it, but hey we will see. if it ends up being awesome all of you have to come, they have it once a month.
ill probably bake cupcakes tonight... ill have to buy some heavy whipping cream for the frosting, sooo exciting i know, but top model is on tonight, so ill watch taht too

Jadie
so seeing as a live 2000 miles away from everyone, you all no longer get the amusement of seeeing me get injured due to my stupidity and clumsiness...so I thought I'd share via blog. APPARANTLY, stabbing straight down, full force with a steak knife is not the best way to get out an avocado pit....especially when you miss the pit. Yea, I spent a couple hours at the hospital last night because I also learned that putting a knife all the way through your hand does actually require stitches (I tried to argue this point, but Andy finally convinced me to go). Luckily, I just missed a major tendon. I just hit muscle, so as an injury, it's not that bad, but it hurts like hell to move my hand. the end.

Monday, March 3, 2008

Almost bought a car

Hi everyone, it's meg. Even though I see most of you guys more often now, the blog needs a re-vival. So you all know I’ve been wanting to buy a new car ever since graduation. No, nothing is really wrong with my car now but I am giving it back to my dad so my sister will have a car starting this summer. And yes, I want to buy a brand new car, 1) I will put a lot of miles on it so it cant have a lot to begin with 2) you can only get really low apr rates on new cars, not used. And my credit score is way above 700 so even though I’m a first-time buyer there’s no reason I shouldn’t be approved for a low apr, according to my sources. So basically I’ve got my eye on a 2008 Accord coupe. And I’ve been talking to a few different dealers and went in a couple weeks ago for a test drive. I’m still considering other models, but essentially I want something sporty, good gas mileage, that’s a reliable brand and will have a decent trade-in value. You know in case I start popping out babies and need something other than a 2-door. But that’s far-fetched. REALLY far-fetched.

So on Saturday morning one of the salespeople I’ve been talking to from Honda of Annapolis emailed me, trying to get me to come in because they were extending their end of the month clearance. So eventually I made an offer, about 1,000 less that what I was quoted by other dealers, which is still about 1500 below invoice and 3500 below sticker price. But I made the offer assuming 2.9% financing which is what the guy told me I could get with near-perfect credit and I have a copy of my credit report I am ready to bring in for proof. Clearly I’m not going into the dealership unless he is going to give me something around what I’m looking for because then they have you right where they want you. So…then the guy got sketchy and made up excuses why he couldn’t give me the low apr “Honda only does it from time to time” but never said anything about the price I offered...meaning the price was do-able but when they slash prices at the end of each month to make their quotas they don’t offer the low apr. What a coincidence! They want people to finance the car, because they make a spiff off of every loan, even if its an outside lending institution. So I’m not going to let them push me around, my dad thinks they will come back to me in a week or so saying now they have a deal. We’ll see, I’m not in a huge hurry. That’s my story. Stay tuned.

it's just a little crush

ok so i dont know who i told about this guy chris that i had a crush on last semester, but he sooo made my weekend. chris was in my golf class and i totally tried to facebook stalk him and find him but i couldnt (i can say that he is my only hard core facebook stalk tho). i think i may have asked some of you for advice on how to facebook stalk better. ok so i played golf with him a couple times in the class and he's so quite and shy, and cute, brown hair, blue eyes, medium build, avg height....anyways, after the class was over i thought my only way to see him again would be if i went by the golf course later this semester to accidentally run into him on purpose, and then i would finally manage to have an actual conversation with him, and he would think i was so cute and flirty that he wouldnt be able to help him self and just have to ask me out. so, i was working saturday night at the restaurant and guess who shows up at one of my tables?!?! CHRIS! and he totally remembered me. he was there having dinner with his roommate and his roommate's family. instead of my routine greeting to the table, i ended up making some small talk with chris and found out that he's a finance major. (oh btw, i'm still taking a class at maryland, i just realized that my story doesnt make sense otherwise). and the class that i'm taking is finance, so he said that he would give me his number and i could call him if i needed any help. and i got his number and i am totally calling to get help, even though im doing pretty good so far...i got a B on my first exam, and my exam grades were the reason i couldnt pass this class.

after i got their drink orders i ran over to one of the other waitresses that i am friends with cus i was shaking i was so excited that i saw him and got his phone number!!! i really hope that he doesnt turn out to be a tool, cus right now im so excited about even having a crush on someone, and the fact that he just popped up at my restaurant out of no where :) now i just need to figure out how long i should wait to call him to get help, i usually only need help around exam time and i just took one last monday, so it'll be a few weeks, but i dont want to wait that long to call him. so when should i call him?

Love,
Kathleen